IEEE Visualization and Graphics Technical Committee (VGTC)

http://vgtc.org/

vgtc

Mission

The IEEE Visualization and Graphics Technical Committee (VGTC) is a formal subcommittee of the Technical Activities Board (TAB) of the IEEE Computer Society. The VGTC provides technical leadership and organizes technical activities in the areas of visualization and visual analytics, computer graphics, virtual and augmented reality, and interaction. VGTC-sponsored conferences and symposia include VIS, VR, ISMAR, PacificVis, EuroVis, BioVis, LDAV, and 3D UI.

AWARDS

To recognize its members for their outstanding technical accomplishments, the VGTC established a series of technical awards in 2004. These awards honor outstanding technical achievements in visualization and virtual reality. In 2013, the VGTC along with the IEEE VGTC Visualization Pioneers Group established the IEEE VGTC VIS Pioneers Group Doctoral Dissertation Award to recognize outstanding academic contributions by junior researchers in visualization and visual analytics.

NATIONAL INITIATIVES

The VGTC is actively involved in national initiatives that study and promote the immediate and long-range challenges in its core and related research areas. For more information visit http://vgtc.org.

GETTING INVOLVED

Membership in the VGTC is open to all individuals interested in visualization, virtual reality and computer graphics at a professional level. There are no dues and no IEEE membership requirements.

WEB SITE

Visit the VGTC web site at http://vgtc.org. It offers information about how to join, VGTC activities, awards, national initiatives, calendar, archives and videos for conferences and symposia, and activities of the Visualization Pioneers Group.

Klaus Mueller, VGTC Chair

VGTC Executive Committee

CHAIR

Klaus Mueller

Department of Computer Science Stony Brook University mueller@cs.stonybrook.edu

VICE CHAIR

Rachael Brady

Cisco rabrady@cisco.com

VICE CHAIR FOR CONFERENCES

Mark Livingston

Naval Research Laboratory mark.livingston@nrl.navy.mil

DIRECTORS

CHAIR OF THE TECHNICAL AWARDS COMMITTEE FOR VIRTUAL REALITY

Department of Computer Science Stony Brook University ari@cs.stonybrook.edu

Bowen Loftin

Chancellor University of Missouri loftinr@missouri.edu

Hanspeter Pfister

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences Harvard University pfister@seas.harvard.edu

William Ribarsky

Charlotte Visualization Center University of North Carolina at Charlotte ribarsky@uncc.edu

Robert Moorhead

Visualization, Analysis, and Imaging Lab Mississippi State University rjm@erc.msstate.edu

LIAISON FOR NATIONAL INITIATIVES; CHAIR OF THE TECHNICAL AWARDS COMMITTEE FOR VISUALIZATION; IEEE SERVICE AWARDS CHAIR FOR ISMAR, VISUALIZATION, & VIRTUAL REALITY

Larry Rosenblum

University of Maryland ljrosen@umiacs.umd.edu

Amitabh Varshney

Department of Computer Science University of Maryland, College Park varshney@cs.umd.edu

APPOINTED OFFICERS

FINANCE CHAIR

Loretta Auvil

National Center for Supercomputing Applications University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign lauvil@ncsa.uiuc.edu

INTERNATIONAL LIAISON

Hans Hagen

Computer Science Department Technical University of Kaiserslautern hagen@informatik.uni-kl.de

ETHICS OFFICER

Penny Rheingans

University of Maryland Baltimore County rheingan@cs.umbc.edu

Publications Chair

Tobias Isenberg

INRIA

tobias.isenberg@inria.fr

ONLINE COMMUNITIES CHAIR Christopher Collins

University of Ontario Institute of Technology Christopher.Collins@uoit.ca

Industrial Relations Chair Jörn Kohlhammer

Fraunhofer Institute Joern.Kohlhammer@igd.fraunhofer.de

WEB MASTER

Daniel Acevedo Feliz King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) daniel.acevedo@kaust.edu.sa

SECRETARY

Huamin Qu

Department of Computer Science and Engineering Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) huamin@cse.ust.hk

MEMBERS AT LARGE

David Ebert

School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Purdue University ebertd@purdue.edu

Eduard Gröller

Institute of Computer Graphics and Algorithms Vienna University of Technology groeller@cg.tuwien.ac.at

Christopher Johnson

Director, Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute University of Utah crj@sci.utah.edu

John Stasko

School of Interactive Computing Georgia Institute of Technology stasko@cc.gatech.edu

Ex-Officio Members

editor-in-chief of IEEE cg&A Miguel Encarnação

ACT, Inc. Ime@computer.org

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF OF IEEE TVCG

Ming Lin

Department of Computer Science University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill lin@cs.unc.edu